on 29 August 2015

This book is a great read for anyone wanting to explore Agile practices in both business and software.

After briefly exploring agile as part of my university course, this book has helped to fill in the blanks. More importantly it’s helped me to understand why this methodology is effective, with clear and concise examples. The tone of writing gave me the feeling of being talked through the methodology by a friend, preventing the book from becoming a dry read.

As another reviewer has suggested, it’s a great reference book that I keep going back to. After only a month its become one of by most read business books on the shelf. My only gripe is that it wasn’t released when I was studying the materials at uni, I’m sure I would of got a better grade 🙂

Buy it now.

on 16 July 2015
Belinda’s book is a MUST READ for all Directors, Managers and Entrepreneurs. It’s clear and straightforward. Adopting the Agile approach will help drive your business, motivate your team, strengthen communications and deliver your desired results. Since the 2008 crash, businesses have had to change the way they work. Agile allows businesses the opportunity to adapt to constant change and enhances communication across the team. Agile provides an immediate snap shot of where your business is and where it’s heading. Agile utilises your resources and effectively preempts challenges, allowing solutions to be implemented to keep your business on track.

 

on 16 October 2015
Agile has a deservedly excellent reputation amongst the development community but what many people don’t realise is that it is a powerful methodology and mindset right across your business. Belinda sets out to and succeeds in explaing why and more importantly, how to implement this approach. Her writing style is clear, concise and entertaining and the book is packed with practical methods, tools & techniques to support you in delivering your business goals. It is a real breath of fresh air to read a business book which genuinely offers the reader a way to free themselves from the shackles of command and control and get the most out of their resources.

 

on 18 June 2015

This book presents Belinda’s experiences and lessons learned from years of Agile adoption, practise and business coaching. A must read for any business considering adopting Agile, it will significantly speed you to Aha moments.

Agile is a perspective and situational method. The more perspectives and situations you encounter the better. Belinda’s perspective from a business coaching point of view is a great read. Especially Software Developers looking for new ways to look at Agile, and people curious as to how Agile could be applied beyond Software Development

Olly Brand, IBMer and Agile Practitioner

 

on 23 June 2015
What the author shows is how Agile can add value to all aspects of your business and not just for technology firms. Advice I feel that has been born from real experience in delivering real value using Agile in the real world. I shot through this book and then went back to read it again. I don’t post 5 star reviews often but I cannot recommend highly enough this book. It’s now become a guide I have near my desk it’s more than just a quick read. This will become a well thumbed companion.
on 15 July 2015
An inspirational book, which is very clearly written and straightforward to follow. This book provides the reader with a variety of practical tools and methods, which they can utilise both in their professional and personal lives, to equip themselves to tackle anything that life may throw at them head-on. The book will assist the reader in developing ways of adapting to work both ‘smarter’ and more efficiently to achieve their desired results. A real ‘must read’ book!
on 25 June 2015
have known Belinda for a while and consider her to be a fellow guru! she has all the qualities that I look for in fellow networkers: she’s an expert in her field, she has integrity, and she’s one of the nicest people I know. she shares her knowledge freely, is always happy to help, and is a bundle of energy with bubbling enthusiasm! This book is a stimulating read and conveys the principles of Agile Theory in terms that are accessible.
highly recommended!

 

on 7 December 2015
I have been delivering and coaching Agile in the public sector for three years now. Often it can be a challenge to help customers to understand how Agile can assist in change without actually doing it with them. This book is the first book I’ve read that from start to finish I nodded ‘So this is what I do!’ and ‘that’d make sense to customers’
It’s an easy but such an effective read, my copy of this book has my notes for reference scribbled all over it.
on 5 November 2015

This book presents an introduction of great techniques and tools that are used successfully in the software development sector and shows how they can be applied to any business with great examples and case studies.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book and would recommend it to anybody that wants to improve both themselves and their business.

Six star review!

on 23 October 2015
This book is superb! Practical guidance, help and explanations to support Directors, Managers and Entrepreneurs to do business better, faster, cleaner and without stress. If only there were six stars – the most helpful book on business I have read to date.
on 29 July 2015
This is the book I’m recommending for anyone who wants to use Agile techniques in a non software environment. It has excellent explanations of why you would use the techniques and the benefits of they give you.
on 15 June 2015
Excellent book. Very useful for anyone in business or anyone trying to re-evaluate how to spend their time/money/resources. Would definitely recommend it.
on 15 June 2015
This books is a tool for business and everyday life. You’ll never get bogged down with decisions, resources or workflow ever again!
on 16 July 2015
Simply a “must read” for anybody in business
Belinda’s book is great…. get reading, short bursts and put it into action, the agile way……, 15 Jun. 2015 by william t cairley
This review is from: Being Agile in Business:Discover faster, smarter, leaner ways to work: Discover faster, smarter, leaner ways to work (Paperback)
In her book, Belinda shows you a fresh new approach; a faster, more visual way of checking, proving,
validating all those things that too often we juggle inside our (over) busy head. Using her book to
navigate the easy and fun process of getting control of any situation, she guides you through better
uses of time, tools and methods. The benefits are quickly measurable by how much you embrace
what you read… and put into practice, both in your business and personal life. Belinda makes it
effortless to ‘get it’, from the basics, to the more in depth cultural changes that many strive to achieve, but few will reach without using Belinda’s agile roadmap. A small investment in time and effort to read this book will enable a profound change for the good in how you work in future.
We all collaborate in one way or another and again, Belinda shows some winning ways for sharing
information, allocating workload fairly and clearly and enabling everyone to feel a valued team player. Belinda has assisted me greatly with my clients and I always look forward to working with her or co-facilitating agile sessions with new or established businesses. I use the whole agile way of working with both business and private clients. No more need for complex, computer based project
management tools, hidden from view and taking hours to re-calculate when the inevitable ‘unexpected’ changes take place, on a regular basis… Now I ‘get it out of my head’ and with
Belinda’s agile visual tools and methods, I look at it from a variety of perspectives and can share or
ask for help from whoever is in my virtual team… Learning this is easy, for all ages and experiences…
If you want to save time, that precious commodity; avoid waste; communicate on workload and
resources with friends or colleagues… get reading, short bursts and put it into action, the agile way. Will, Business and Personal Coach and NLP Master Business Practitioner
on 18 June 2015

In this book she gives her answer to the question: “Can Agile work outside of software?” and her answer is a definitive Yes.

This is because Belinda has seen these things work with her own eyes, she has introduced ideas which originated in software companies to non-software companies and helped them do it. As a result this book is not a dry abstract discussion of theory but a discussion of these practices being in the real world – in actual businesses, in actual teams, in real, non-software, businesses.

At its most basic this book describes how agile practices can be used by every business to do their current work better. At the more advances level readers will see how adopting an Agile mindset can radically change and improve their business.

I should probably point out that I’m not completely without biases here, being the author of books on Agile myself and having contributed a forward to this book. Please don’t think “This reviewer is writing a good review because he wrote the forward” think rather “This reviewer believes in the book so much he wrote a forward.”